The Illinois State Biology program has many ways for you to get involved not only with research, but with the community as well. These organizations exist so that students can learn and grow together during their time at the university.

  • Biological Sciences Student Association
  • Phi Sigma Society
  • Student Awards - Spring 2018

See our webpage for upcoming events!

Like us on facebook

Biology logo


BSSA is a Registered Student Organization open to any interested Biological Sciences majors.

How to join

Send an email to faculty advisor Dr. Wolfgang Stein to get signed up!

For more information and to get involved see our chapter’s website.

Visit our facebook page.

Phi Sigma Crest

Phi Sigma Society is a national non-profit organization devoted to the promotion of scholarship and research in the Biological Sciences. Our Chapter of Phi Sigma works closely within the School of Biological Science and is a sponsor of the weekly seminar series, the fall picnic, the holiday party, and the annual research symposium. We hold an annual grant competition to provide research funds to both graduate and undergraduate students.


Graduate and undergraduate students must rank (or have ranked) in the upper 35 percent of their class in general scholarship.

Undergraduate students majoring in biology, biochemistry and molecular biology, or clinical laboratory science who have at least junior status (60 or more credit hours) with a GPA of 3.4 or above are eligible for membership. For more information see the national Phi Sigma website.

How to Join

Our Beta Lambda Chapter of Phi Sigma currently conducts two (one each during the fall and spring semesters) membership drives each year. At that time your preliminary eligibility will be determined and those students meeting the eligibility requirements will receive a letter of invitation to join. When you receive your letter simply fill out the application completely and return it and a check for your membership dues. After evaluation by the membership chairperson your membership will be processed and you will be initiated during a special ceremony later in the semester

Research Awards

Cheung/Brown Publication Award

Darren Will

Amanda Wilson Carter

Robert Gray Ecology Scholarship

Kristina McIntire

Undergraduate Researcher

Kaitie Wildman

Borst Scholarship

Amanda Klingler

Phi Sigma Awards - Outstanding Students

MS - Dylan Poorboy

PhD - Chance Bainbridge

E.L. Mockford and C.F. Thompson Summer Research Fellowship Awards

PhD - Rosario Marroquin-Flores

MS - Kerrigan Tobin and Austin Calhoun

R.D. Weigel Research Grant Recipients

Anna Abusharekh, Chance Bainbridge, Abigail Benson, Tony Breitenbach, Austin Calhoun, Maggie DeMaegd, Rachel Disciullo, Kristin Duffield, Maliheh Esfahanian, Kate Evans, Christy Fornero, Casey Gahrs, Kylie Hampton, Kiley Hughes, Rosario Marroquin-Flores, Kristina McIntire, Logan Sauers, Anna Scheidel, Taylor Suo, Kerrigan Tobin and Ashley Waring

Phi Sigma Travel Awards

Tony Breitenbach, Nicole Campbell, Maggie DeMaegd, Kristin Duffield, Pooja Kadaba Ranganatha, and Dylan Poorboy

Barb Bathe Award

Abby Primo



Rilett Scholarship Awards Recipients

Micheal Almassey, Mina Amini-Moghaddam, Chance Bainbridge, Abigail Benson, Margaret DeMaegd, Rachael DiSciullo, Kristin Duffield, Malihe Esfahanian, Casey Gahrs, Kara Hodges, Kiley Hughes, Pooja Kadaba Ranganatha, Rosario Marroquin-Flores, Dylan Poorboy, Logan Sauers, Rachel Sparks, Kerrigan Tobin, and Ashley Waring

Teaching Awards

Tak Cheung/Joni St. John General Education Teaching Assistant Awards

Rachel Sparks, Kylie Hampton, Chris Lark and Ashley Waring

Outstanding Biology Teaching Assistants

MS Abigail Benson, PhD Chris Goldsmith

Undergraduate Teaching Assistant

Julia Martin

Charlena Wallen Award

Kylie Hampton

Service Awards

Jack Ward Service Award

Marc Ashford

Undergraduate Service Award

Rachel Angles